09
May
09

Mom’s Noodle Soup

mom's noodle soup

This post is dedicated to my mom.  Thanks for being my chef, my teacher, and my care-taker.  I love you mom

I’m home sick today.  I’ve actually been home sick for the past two days.  Being surrounded by tissues, bad daytime tv, soft comfortable pillows, and lots of liquids, I didn’t really feel in the mood for cooking something extravagant.  I decided that I needed some of mom’s treatment for any sickness.  A nice bowl of hot noodle soup.  Yum.

This noodle soup is easy and always evokes comfort and warmth for me.  Whenever I would be sick, it was always a great day if I didn’t focus on all the mucus, aches, and pains.  Hey, I at least got to stay home and watch tv and drink lots of sprite or 7 up.  Although my mom said that the tv can only be on Sesame Street when I was home sick, I still found a way to sneak in some other shows.  The best thing however, besides the massive amount of tv I watched, was that I knew my Mom would make this noodle soup for me when she got home.

The concept is simple, and standard.  But start with chicken broth, add in noodles, put in some protein and put vegetables in it.  I changed some things from my Mom’s recipe to make it my own.  I started by browning some onion in a little canola oil with some coriander, chili pepper, and sesame seeds.  Just to help add a layer of flavor to the canned chicken broth.  We usually have bok choy in the house, but I wasn’t feeling like cleaning and prepping vegetables.  I was sick.  The same thing with the noodles.  I didn’t feel like having an extra pot out to cook noodles, so I opted for the easy rice noodles.  So if you can’t tell, this dish is for your imagination.  Do what you want, add last nights’ chicken or roast duck.  Throw in some tofu.  Finish it of with some Sriracha.  Top it with some Lechon.  Regardless of what you choose, own it and make it your own.

Oh,and my mom had this weird idea that because sprite was lemon flavored, it had vitamin C.  That’s why we where allowed to drink it when my brother and I where sick.

~stuff

1 tbs canola oil

1/4 cup sliced onion

1/4 tsp sesame seed

1/4 tsp red chili flake

1/8 tsp ground coriander

2 cups of chicken stock

4 large re-hydrated shitake mushroom sliced

2 tsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp sesame oil

1 large egg beaten

1 scallion stalk minced (optional)

handful of leafy greens (I used frozen spinach and just cut half a box)

# cooked noodles

~steps

heat canola oil over high heat.

sautee onion, sesame seeds, chili flakes, and coriander to onion begins to soften

pour chicken stock and bring to a boil

add toppings except for egg and scallion (mushroom, vegetables, lechon, etc…)

turn down heat to low and slowly drizzle scramble egg into broth while slowly stirring the soup to create ribbons (voila, egg drop soup)

pour finished soup over bowl of cooked noodles

garnish with hot sauce and scallions

-serves 2-

5 Responses to “Mom’s Noodle Soup”


  1. 1 Johnny
    May 13, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I want some!!! I just had miss my mom a lot and reading this made me think about how my mom would make a special dish when I was sick too. Also what up with the 7up and Sprite, is that universal? My mom always made me drink it when I was sick. I love your soup and ill make it soon.

  2. 2 Maris
    May 13, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Love the blog title. There is NOTHING better than mom’s soup, although my mom always used to make chicken soup when I was sick and now I associate it with sickness and can’t stand it! LOL. But she makes other things well :)


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

  • Hospitality lesson I learned from industry: don’t let customers wait 30m for assistance w/o acknowledging. They will leave. @REI take note--- 2 days ago
  • Hospitality lesson I learned from the industry: don’t let customers wait 30m for help when they’re ready to purchase; they will leave. @REI--- 2 days ago
  • I live in Asia for 6 months, but I can't get enough if Asian food. (at @SushiKoshu) 4sq.com/1sUxBeJ--- 5 days ago
  • My friend and I thought that we should get veggies to cut all the meat dishes. Clearly we made the… instagram.com/p/qap616C0tl/--- 2 weeks ago
  • Time for some diniguan, sigsig, Kare Kare, and bangus. There will be radio silence for the... 4sq.com/1mxZ2r9--- 2 weeks ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers