17
May
11

roasted ramps with sunchokes

roasted ramps and sunchokes

As many of you know, I love the farmers market.  It’s one of the many things that I love about being in an urban environment.  So it might be a shock to many of you that last week was the first time that I’ve been to the farmers market this year.  I know, shocking. Hell must be freezing over or pigs might be flying.  The only logical reason is that I must have had a minor lapse in sanity.  But all is well now, I promise.

I’ve been itching to get to the market for a while now.  But with the presence of ramps on our menu at the restaurant, I knew I had to get my butt to the market as quickly as I can.  I love ramps. For those that haven’t had ramps before, they look like a scallion with broad flat leaves. They are essentially wild leeks that you will  read about every year in the foodie-verse.  Their season is unfortunately super short, and really only native to the North East/East Coast.  You’re talking about a season of about 5 weeks.  6 if we are lucky.  The flavor is a combination of garlic and onions and doesn’t really require anything but salt and pepper and a light oil.  That’s why it’s a perfect side that is packed full of flavor and easy to make at the same time.

oh ramps, how I love you so...let me count the ways...

Now while I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with these ramps yet, I knew that I had to get some.  When I was scoping out which vendor to purchase these ramps from, my eyes where caught by these gnarly looking tubers.  Awesome!  Sunchokes.  It was then and there that I decided I wanted to make a side with just roasted sunchokes and ramps.

I roasted the ramps and sunchokes together and then removed the ramps mid way to allow the sunchokes to finish cooking.  This ensured that the sunchokes had some of the ramp flavor without the ramps overcooking.  The sweetness of the sunchokes mix perfectly well with the smokiness of the roasting and the aroma of the ramps.  Perfection in simplicity.

Enjoy.

~stuff

10 ramps

8-10 sunchokes cut into 1/4 inch pieces

2 tbs olive oil or vegetable oil

salt and pepper to taste

~steps

preheat oven to 425°f

mix in a roasting pan or casserole dish and roast for 5 minutes

remove ramps and toss sunchokes and return to oven until fork tender (about 3 more minutes)

return ramps to the pan and stir for a 1 minutes

season to taste

-serves 2 as side-

1 Response to “roasted ramps with sunchokes”


  1. 1 Telesh
    May 18, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I say garlic made out with onions and made this yumminess. Can’t wait to see what you make with scapes! I discovered them last year…wow!


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers