01
Feb
09

asian salad wrap

asian salad wrap

I’m not very efficient. I sometimes like to pretend that I am, and I might slip up in one of these posts and say that I am…but in all honesty I’m not. I’ll take the longer way to a subway station because it’s “easier”, I’ll buy things that I don’t need the day of from the supermarket just because I am there and willing to lug home, I’ll even sometimes take hours to do laundry and clean just because I get distracted with another pile of clothes or another cluttered area of the house. So yeah, not very efficient. I’ll get things done and it will be done great, but not always the most efficient way. But, I do have my moments of great efficiency. This usually comes around when I cook. I like to prep all the things before I go. I plan out what needs to be done first and look at the time. The methodology of it all calms me. It’s also fun to think of time saving ways, especially when I’ve been at work till 6 or 7 every day and then lugging my way back to the city and not getting started on dinner till late (my commute is long and about to get even longer). The need to be efficient comes from just sheer hunger and fear that I won’t be able to enjoy my dinner before it gets so late that Jay Kordich, the crazy eyebrowed juiceman, comes on TV to sell me his product or the hungover couple preparing food after the crazy party (if I have to see that damn Magic Bullet commercial one more time…).

So, through my hunger, I discovered this great product. It’s bagged and packaged broccoli slaw. It has great texture and amazing crunch to it. The best part? It holds for a while, despite how much sauce you put on, for a couple of days. I think I found it when I was trying to find a quick salad that I can make that didn’t require washing, chopping, or portioning. With the slaw I can just put it all in a bowl and dress it at once. It’s great. So I made some Asian style slaw.

I’ve been bringing lunch to work more, trying to build off of this new “efficient money saving” for the new year, and wanted to bring some of this slaw I made. Planning ahead, I knew I couldn’t just bring the slaw in, I needed more. I needed protein. So I figured I can marinate some chicken in soy, honey, and ponzu. Pan fry it and then throw the slaw and chicken in a tortilla and call it a wrap. You can probably do use extra firm tofu as well. Delicioso… Make sure you make lots of extra chicken and slaw. I made a wrap for my roommate and unfortunately her coworkers swooped it up before she could have more than one bite. I mean, serves her right for not defending her food more. If it where me, I’d be biting and chomping away at some fingers. I cannot take responsibility for lost fingers.

Oh, and pozu is great and I totally recommend getting some for your kitchen. It’s made by boiling mirin, rice vinegar, dried fish, and seaweed, then mixed with various Japanese citrus. Sometimes you can also get it pre-mixed with soy sauce. You can substitute lemons and limes if you would like. Hoisin sauce is this sauce that is commonly used in Chinese Peking Duck or with Vietnamese Pho as a condiment. It’s sweet with a nice tart and very faint spicy kick. Wouldn’t recommend a substitution at all. Go get the real thing when it comes to this.

Oh, and no mandarin oranges in this salad or any salad with Asian or Chinese in it, please.

~stuff

-for the slaw

1 12 oz bag of brocolli slaw

2 stalks of scallion minced

2 tbs sesame oil

4 tbs hoisin sauce

1 tsp grated ginger

japanese chili (Shichimi Togarashi) / red chili flakes, to taste

-for the chicken/tofu

2 chicken breast or 4 ½ inch slices of firm tofu *

1½  tbs sesame oil

1/3 cup soy sauce

3/8 cup ponzu

2 tsp lime zest

1½ tbs honey

1 tbs ginger, grated or minced

1 large clove of garlic, minced

-for the rest

4 whole wheat tortilla/wraps

2 cups spinach

some toasted sesame seeds (optional)

chili flakes to taste (optional)

*if you are using firm tofu.  First prepare it by placing it on a plate wrapped in paper towel and a heavy weight on top.  You want to press all the liquid out so it can absorb the marinade.

~steps

marinate chicken or tofu in sesame oil, soy sauce, ponzu, lime zest, ginger, garlic, and honey for at least 30 minutes and set aside

mix in large bowl, brocolli, scallion, sesame oil, chili, grated ginger and hoisin sauce.  Salt and pepper to taste and set aside

heat a medium sized pan on medium high heat and place a little olive oil in the pan.  When it begins to shimmer put chicken in pan, if there is skin put the skin side down first

cook on both sides till brown and cooked in the center and remove from heat

heat tortilla till soft in microwave, oven at 200 degrees, or stove top and lay on large plate or flat surface.  Place a bed of the broccoli slaw in the center with the chicken sliced and top with spinach and toasted sesame seed and chili flakes (you can add a little extra Hoisin Sauce if you want).

fold edges in to create a wrap or burrito

-serves 4-

2 Responses to “asian salad wrap”


  1. 1 jasmin
    February 2, 2009 at 9:24 am

    yum! i can’t wait to make this =) i ❤ ur blog!!!

  2. 2 Diana
    February 2, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Scott this looks delicious! I know what I’m having for lunch this week…


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.