12
Mar
09

Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

mom's chocolate chip cookies

Growing up, baking wasn’t a big thing that happened in our home. Okay, I lie. Sometimes we would get fresh baked bread in the bread maker. But, other than that, the oven was mostly used for my dad’s delicious turkey, which is a later post, and more recently, my mom’s roasted miso fish, again…another post. There was however, one baked good that my brother and I could count on whenever one of us would visit which was Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies. Oy, so delicious. These are not your standard Mrs. Field’s Chocolate Chip Cookies. They are made with a sour cream base so they are light and fluffy. My brother explains them as chocolate chip muffin tops. He could be right, the only thing that make these cookies is the shape. It’s actually more like a cake-y consistency or a pancake…go ahead…I know you want to eat them as breakfast, I won’t judge.

My brother and I did some investigating when we didn’t have our Mom’s recipe. We figured out that these cookies have their roots from Houston Texas. Makes sense, I was born there and my family lived there for a little bit. Also makes sense why there is sour cream and butter in it. Those Texans sure know how to have fun with food. I’m reminded of a segment I watched about a diner in some part of Texas that serves deep fried battered bacon served with a Ranch dressing as a dipping sauce. ug… definitely not a later post.

I veered away from my Mom’s original recipe of using margarine. I think she used margarine because it was what we usually had at home, but I just think butter tastes so much better. I also used a Silpat instead of a buttered pan. I thought I might as well cut some corners with the calorie intake, and use a silicone pad. Plus, I just wanted an excuse to buy a Silpat. Kitchen gadgets make me feel fancy.

I don’t recommend using reduced fat or low fat sour cream. It changes it, plus… I mean, if you are going to bake and eat cookies, you might as well go all the way. Plus, if you’re going to put a stick of butter in the cookies…why bother with the fat free? These cookies are going to seem under done when you pull them out…don’t worry. They should be pale in color. The only thing that is golden brown is the bottom of the cookies, and maybe the edges.

Enjoy…no need for milk. Oh, and if you are still worried about the fat content, just think of all the calcium you are getting in return through the sour cream. It’s a good trade off right?

~stuff

1 stick butter at room temperature

½ tsp of salt

1 large egg

¾ cup granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream

½ tsp baking soda

1.5 cup of flour

1 ½ cup semisweet chocolate chip cookie

~steps

preheat oven to 350 degrees

mix butter, sugar, salt, and egg till smooth

add sour cream and vanilla and mix

add flour and baking soda and stir

add chocolate chips and stir

spoon on to baking sheet about 1-2 inches apart on your Silpat or lightly buttered cookie sheet

bake for 20 minutes or until edges get slightly brown and a toothpick comes out clean when you poke the cookies.

-makes about 2 dozen, depending on size of cookies-

1 Response to “Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 loresreflections
    March 15, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Hey lovely,

    I had a dream about these cookies last night after reading your post. While I have given cookies up for lent, I look forward to making these and eating all of them on Easter Sunday. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…