12
Apr
09

pasta salad

pasta salad

Spring has officially begun in New York.   This winter was my first time living in New York/New England during the icy storm that outsiders seem to brand as a Winter Wonderland.  After going through the “wonderland”, I now want to bludgeon whoever came up with that fantastical image.  Icy sharp pain, slushy black puddles, cold bitter wind, and frozen sidewalks just waiting for a person to slip and sprain their wrist.  (and yes…that is from experience)

So, the moment it got warm, I went out to create something to go with this renewed sense of life.  My roommate has been requesting a pasta salad for some time so I figured that now would be the best time to make it.  I love the colors in this pasta.  Very spring like in all it’s clichéd-ness.  Everything from the ingredients (radish, lemon, parsley) to the spring colors scream “eat me while little kids run around the park or backyard in search of outrageously colored plastic eggs filled with intense sugar rush inducing chocolates.”

I’ve fallen in love with radishes lately, especially when I discovered Tea’s chimol recipe (which I tweak and add ground coriander and a dash of ground cumin).  I try to incorporate it in as much as I can.  I do wish there was a quicker way to chop them though, but for now I resort to either none bite size pieces, or I make my roommate or brother do it.  It’s much more convenient for me, them I’m not so sure.

I used canned tuna in this salad.  I like the combination of lemon, parsley, and fish.  If you don’t like the mild flavor of tuna, you can omit it (or add another canned fish or shredded fish).  I may have over mixed the salad, so the tuna was less bite size pieces and more incorporated with the salad, you can play with it however you want.

Also, if you let the salad marinate for a little bit, the flavors will get stronger.  Also, the radish begins to spread it’s pink color and makes the dish look amazingly spring.

~stuff

16 oz whole wheat penne or rigatoni pasta

1 medium shallot minced

1 tbs red wine vinegar

1tbs lemon juice

4 tbs extra virgin olive oil

¼ cup of minced parsley

lemon zest from 1 medium lemon

1 medium cucumber peeled, seeded, and cubed

12 medium radishes cubed

2 cans of tuna

salt and pepper

~steps

boil water in a large pot

cook pasta per instruction on box till al dente

whisk in a small bowl all ingredients except for the cucumber, radish, and tuna to make the dressing

drain pasta and rinse in cold water to stop the cooking process

mix cucumber, radish, tuna, pasta, and dressing in a bowl

season to taste with salt and pepper

serve room temperature or slightly chilled

-serves 4 –

2 Responses to “pasta salad”


  1. 1 Diana
    April 20, 2009 at 10:43 am

    This looks delicious! I’m going to try it with salmon. Thanks, Scott!

  2. 2 Joy
    April 24, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Hi Scott! That looks yummy! 🙂

    I came here from DineandDish. We’ve been ‘matched’ for Adopt-A-Blogger. I can’t seem to find a contact page, but just email me. Let’s chat and get cookin’. 🙂 Cheers.


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.