05
Jan
10

shrimp scampi: chinese style

chinese shrimp scampi

I love shrimp.  It’s just so delicious.  Prepared any way, I will eat it: raw, fried, steamed, boiled, grilled, charred, whatever.  Although important, the preparation is meaningless when the main stage is a sweet, delicious, juicy crustacean that we all know of as shrimp. My love for shrimp is evident in that I have not been able to eat shrimp only once in my life, and it was because of an unfortunate encounter with desert sun and alcohol.  But that still didn’t stop me from trying to eat some. Since I was little, I always remember myself pounding down shrimp no matter the consequences.

I remember as a child how much of an important factor that shrimp played in my development as a young man.  I remember the fried shrimp that I would get at our family outings to the local Sizzler, the Texas Toast wasn’t that bad either.  It was one of the highlights of my youth.  There I was, an 8 year old waiting for dinner and when my parents would come back from work and I noticed my Mom didn’t start dinner, I knew then that it was going to be the best night of my life.  A Sizzler night.  A mound of fried shrimp on a plate night.

As I got older, I eventually moved on to shrimp cocktail.  I discovered the hidden gem known as “Hometown Buffet ” and ran toward their seafood bar without sitting down first and attacking the strategically placed boiled and peeled shrimp and spooning globs of cocktail sauce on top.  I seriously packed away many plates full.  Yes, while my family was chowing down on king crab legs, lobster tail, or even some prime rib, I had my eyes on the cheap boiled shrimp and jarred cocktail sauce.  Was there anything else that needed more attention?

I really tested my limits when I convinced my dad one year to buy two giant Costco size prepared shrimp cocktail trays for our Thanksgiving dinner.  Seriously, there was probably a good 100 shrimp on each platter.  Knowing full well that our Thanksgiving guests would much rather prefer the feast that my Mom and Dad where preparing, I had the intentions to plow and attack those little critters on my own.  So, there I was.  Staring at these giant black trays with little pink jewels ready to be attacked, hell I couldn’t let all the labor of the Costco workers go to waste and be ignored.  So I ate them.  I ate probably a good ¾ of the tray.  Ok, maybe I ate a whole tray myself.  Thanksgiving didn’t exist to me that year.  Family?  Not important.  It was just me versus the shrimp.  Nothing could deter me from the mission that my stomach and heart had before them.  Later that night, I learned the effects of the shrimp.  I’m not quite sure if I should go into full detail.  But my 9 year old body had cold sweats, chills, and lots of bathroom time.  Lots.  But yet, I refused to let the shrimp win.  So the next morning, I  ate the rest of the shrimp for breakfast.  Yum! Take that prawns!

One of the first dishes that my Mom and Dad would let me cook at a young age was a shrimp dish.  It’s really easy, quick, and requires only three ingredients, in addition to the shrimp.  I use garlic powder because it sticks to the shell easier, which makes for sucking up the juices of the shrimp much more fun.  Plus, garlic powder doesn’t have as much of a sharp taste as fresh garlic.  If you don’t have Chinese Rice Wine, you can use Sake or Cooking Sherry.  But, if you’re going to start cooking Chinese more often, you should just invest in a bottle.  I think I’ve seen them at Whole Foods before.  But, go to the Asian market.  It’s much cheaper.  This is quick; remember shrimp only need to cook for a few minutes.  Oh, and this shrimp is good cold/room temperature and in salads…so on.  So do it this way instead of boiled shrimp for some recipes.  It will provide a more complex flavor to your food.  And although some may be be squeamish, keep the head on.  It’s more flavorful.  More flavor means more fun.

~stuff

1 lb medium shrimp, rinsed

3 tbs Chinese rice wine

1½ tsp garlic powder

½ tsp salt

~steps

heat pan to high heat, until water quickly dissolves when splashed in the pan

put shrimp in pan without oil

pour wine in pan and stir

sprinkle garlic powder over shrimp

toss shrimp until cooked. 2 minutes

-depending on size of shrimp, serves 4-

5 Responses to “shrimp scampi: chinese style”


  1. 1 KAWEZYA
    January 5, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    OMG dyyyyying with laughter. keep up the good work. you have a great way of expression with words and food and I love the idea of putting the two together. It’s a tasty combination! Kind of like my way with mixing awesome cliches and compliments. (My obsession with food, sleeping, and true life crime mysteries tends to lack any beneficial reward unfortunately)

    • 2 scott
      January 9, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      Kawezya: Glad you like. Be sure to keep commenting if you feel inclined. Cliches and compliments gladly accepted. If you try any dishes, tell me how they go.


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…