08
Jan
10

braised ground pork with quail eggs

braised ground pork with quail egg

Most of you have probably figured out by now that I spent a lot of time alone at home.  My parents had to run a business and I didn’t really want to be in daycare.  Once I got older, I didn’t want to do any extra curricular activities.  I was more excited and intrigued about getting home and playing with the stove and whatever was in the refrigerator.  Ok, fine, it was really because of the TV.  I was addicted to tv.  Regardless of shows being cancelled, changed, or added, I knew the schedule.  I had shows that I would watch from 2:30 pm till 6:00 pm.  I would flip between Darkwing Duck, Tale Spin, Animaniacs, Tiny Toons, Batman; the animated series, Frugal Gourmet, and Designing Women.  Yes- I know, Delta Burke helped raise me.

My Mom would always come home around six to cook dinner.  She was the master of cooking dishes quickly.  Get home by 6:00 and have five or six dishes ready by 7:00 for dinner.  This also meant for a variety of dishes growing up.  I lucked out.  Where as most American families where having some meat dish and two side dishes involving starch and a vegetable, I was chowing down on two vegetable dishes, a fish dish, a meat dish or two, and a soup.  And to help bind it all together was a nice hot bowl of white rice.  It provided me the opportunity to develop my complex palate but also learn about different flavors with similar preparation methods.  Now, the one thing I will always remember is this braised ground pork dish.  My mom figured out ways from her mother, cookbooks, and trial and error ways to quick dishes quickly and I believe ground pork is one of them.  It’s small, cooks fast without getting tough, and can easily soak flavors while braising.  Not to mention there are delicious bits of fat marbled in it which releases so much flavor.

This ground pork dish is a nice complex and savory dish that tastes great over white rice and is simple to make.  If you never had quail eggs before, this is a great dish to try it in.  I use the canned ones because it’s just as good as fresh ones and doesn’t require any boiling then peeling.  I mean, if you want to boil water, put in quail eggs, then let all cool, and then peel them then by all means, go ahead.  But since I don’t have time, and my mom only had 10 minutes to get everything in pot and let braise, the canned ones where just fine.  When I was little, I loved to pop one of the eggs in my mouth, bite down, and let the creamy delicious yolk spread in my mouth.  It was a great textural overload for my taste buds.  The tenderness of the ground pork, the chewy of the egg white, and the creamy of the yolk added to the flavors of soy, rice wine, and scallions.  Mind boggling.

This mixed with noodles is also great.  Congee would be good too.  But we always just did it with rice.   One time I mixed this with some boiled vegetables and it turned out great.  Basically this makes a great side dish, entrée, and condiment.  Enjoy.  And, like I said in other posts.  You can substitute rice wine with sake or sherry, but again-why bother?  Go and buy a bottle.

Oh, and Designing Women taught me great things about life, love, and women empowerment.  I don’t care what any of y’all say.

~stuff

½ lb ground pork

1 tbs canola oil

2 cloves of garlic

¼ cup of scallion, minced

4 tbs soy sauce

2 tbs Chinese rice wine

8 oz can of quail egg, drained

½ cup of water

~steps

sauté garlic and scallion in oil on high heat till fragrant in small saucepan

brown ground pork with scallion/garlic mixture

add eggs to  and toss

pour soy sauce, wine, and water into saucepan

simmer for at least 20 minutes, stir occasionally.

season with salt to taste

-serves 4-

0 Responses to “braised ground pork with quail eggs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.