10
Jan
10

hippie beef [grass-fed beef]

hippie beef

As part of my new years resolution, I’ve decided to become more sustainable in both how I live and how I eat.  Although it may seem like an easy transition, it’s more difficult then I thought.  I’ve stopped purchasing things that are in plastic bottles, which means no soda [something I once considered to be the nectar of the Gods, other than Kraft Mac and Cheese.], and am attempting to re-use things like glass bottles [which came from some Kambucha, never again – never again.]  and what not.  This also means a change in diet, forcing me to look at what I take in and how to be able to be more sustainable and supportive of both local vendors and seasonal fruits and vegetables.  I already knew I was going toward a small step of being healthier, and hippier like my Oregon brethrens, with the seafood watch cards, but obviously that wasn’t enough. It’s been a really great and exciting challenge for me.  One of the most exciting changes is frequenting the farmers market for local fare.  It’s amazing the diversity of things that exist in a farmers market.  You can get your baked needs, your poultry, dairy, eggs, meat, seafood, fruits, and vegetable.  At the Union Square farmers market, there is also potting soil.  It’s great!  Where else can you get your food and worm shit at the same place?  It’s like the circle of life minus the Timon, Pumba, and heart wrenching/ eye watering loss of father figure and forced maturity of a king. Excuse me, I need a tissue.

I’m always amazed by the options whenever I go to a market and get really excited but at times it is very overwhelming.  Trying to navigate the different vendors and finding which one is the best gets scary, especially because we live in an age and society where our goal is to constantly get the better deal and the cheapest product.  The thing is, in order to live a life where we can get food at fair standards, proper care, and humane standards; we need to accept that we have been paying abnormal and abusive wages for decades.  So, when at a market, accept the price, get to know the vendors, and return to them if you like them.  My suggestion is to just check them all out and figure which produce catches your eye the most and go for it.  Usually the vendors know each other and help each other out.  If you’re looking for something specific that is in season, ask the vendors.  They may know somewhere else to get it at the market.

For some reason, vegetables, fruit, and grain vendors were the folks I frequented the most.  Meat seemed to always be passed in my view.  One of the reasons is because, in the past, I would only go to the market because it was warm outside and I was scared that the meat would turn to a ticking time bomb of salmonella and food poisoning.  But now, since snow hath no power when it comes to Scott, it’s freezing outside which means I can buy meat and not worry about spoilage. So today my Brother and I bought two things:  Duck Prosciutto and Grass Fed Beef.  The Duck Prosciutto was awesome and will for sure be seen in a future post.  Grass Fed Beef was our dinner tonight.

My brother and I surrounded this plate of medium rare beef.  Full of aromatic, delightful, and juicy steak was sliced and soaking in its own sauce on plate while my brother and I stared at it, fork in fist, and salivating at the first bite.  It was delicious.  We were two Chinese cavemen.  Grunting, slurping, and in heaven.  Grass fed beef is not only better for the environment and raised in a humane and un-torturous environment, but it is leaner and healthier for you.  Compared to its grain fed counterpart, the steak that my brother and I attacked has less fat, less calories, more omega 3, more good fats, and more flavor.  Now, how can you beat that? No sauce needed, just the basics.  And always rare to medium rare. Thank goodness for hippie beef.

~stuff

grass-fed beef

kosher or sea salt

coarse ground pepper

olive oil

~steps

turn broiler on high

bring beef to room temperature

brush with olive oil

season liberally with salt and pepper on both sides

broil beef for 4-5 minutes and turn

cook for another 2 – 3 minutes till desired done-ness (use a thermometer [accurate] or hand method [less accurate])

rest for 4 – 5 minutes before serving.

-depending on beef size-

3 Responses to “hippie beef [grass-fed beef]”


  1. 1 Candice
    January 10, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Ok, you can make this one for me…YUM!

  2. 2 scott
    January 10, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    candice: any time.

  3. 3 Juyeon
    January 11, 2010 at 7:28 am

    It’s hard to be environmentally conscious these days, specially in the U.S. because we have so much wrapping plastics, plastic bags, individually wrapped cookies and vegitables, etc., etc. Perhaps, you are right, Scott. We need to go to the Farmers’ market every time. The unfortunate thing is… we need to stop these plastic trends at supermarkets, marts, and deli stores first. Otherwise, the world around us will still be filled with unrecyclable plastics. In Asia, there are 6 categories of recyclable plastics. In the U.S. there is only one (1). This calls for a mass movement! Consumers and fans of hippie beefs! We need to rise up against the rampant use of plastics!


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…