18
Jan
10

roasted jalapeno guacamole

roasted jalapeno guacamole

I grew up in Southern California, and for folks who don’t know, that means sunny days, great produce, and amazing food.  Especially Mexican food.   I was so lucky!  I remember, even when our family grew out of the Sizzler and buffets, always going to Mexican restaurants in our neighborhood.  It was so delicious.  I loved eating the dishes with its layers of salty, tangy, and spicy dishes.  They where always so delicious and you could always tell the level of care and effort that was taken into the dishes.  One of the things I love about Mexican food is that you can taste the complexities of the dish.  Some Mexican dishes, in addition to the great uses of spices and flavors, take multiple steps in order to create.  One example is something like enchiladas.  The process to create the sauce, create the filling, and then combine the two to create the dish is laborious and requires a lot of work, yet it is done to create a delicious meal.  Not to mention the addition of preparation for the sides and condiments.  I really appreciated the cuisine at young age. [although most of my choices where fajitas and nachos, which are very much not Mexican like, my friends would be so mad at me.]

One thing that I was always sure to get at the Mexican restaurants growing up, especially after constant whining and begging, was some freshly made guacamole.  Living in Southern California really spoiled me with real guacamole.  I would hate it whenever I had some of the preservative filled pre-made stuff from the stores or dried sodium filled packet.  Blech!  So I eventually taught myself to make this delicious dip, sauce, or appetizer and eventually put my own spin on it.

When I moved to New York I began to challenge myself with recipe creation and trying more foods from other cuisines.  It’s hard to find good Mexican food in New York, so what I did was tried to create dishes that I was not so familiar with.  I had found a basic enchilada recipe, so I tried it out.  Problem is, I bought Costco size tortillas.  Yeah, so I had like 145 tortillas just chilling in my fridge.  So I decided to make tortilla chips.  Now, I hate frying.  I hate the process of filling a pot/pan getting a lot of oil and standing over the stove waiting for it to be done.  Painful and not my idea of fun.  So I discovered that the oven is a great way to make chips.  It takes longer if you are doing a lot, but it doesn’t require standing over oil or trying to figure out what to do with the excess oil.

When I make guacamole, I roast the tomatoes and jalapeno if there is time.  It gives it a nice smoky flavor.  I also grate a clove of garlic into the guacamole so that way it almost wisps the dip and gives it a nice garlic aftertaste towards the end of the bite.  It’s so delicious.  If there isn’t time to roast the jalapeno, it’s fine.  But it makes a load of different in the taste.

~stuff

{guacamole}

3 ripe Haas avocado

1 medium jalapeno, halved

1 medium tomato, halved

¼ cup onion, minced

¼ cup cilantro, minced

2 tbs lime juice

½ tsp salt

{chips}

4 tortillas, quartered

1½ tbs olive oil

1 tsp salt

~steps

{guacamole}

broil tomato and jalapeno on high until slightly charred

remove pepper and tomato until cool and dice

mix all ingredients with tomato and jalapeno

{chips}

heat oven to 250°

lay tortillas out on a baking sheet and drizzle with oil and salt

bake tortillas for about 10 minutes until crispy and brown

-serves 9-

1 Response to “roasted jalapeno guacamole”


  1. 1 yay4goodeats!
    January 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    yumm…truly delicious! nothing like comin home to fresh home-made guac. more garlic the better!


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.