28
Jan
10

enchilada con salsa verde

enchiladas con salsa verde

-happy one-year birthday to  brb…eating-

I’m a big fan of leftover foods.  Now, not like food that is leftover and reheated in a microwave, or more recently in my house, stovetop.  But I mean left over foods that turn out to be new and improved dishes.  It’s like a genie granting me three wishes.  How awesome is that?  Today, my wishes are: tomatillos, leftover chicken, and world peace.  And from that, comes enchiladas with a side of world peace.  Who needs a revolution?  You just need my enchiladas.

I love making this dish.  The ingredient list is long, and there are a lot of steps, but it really is simple-I promise.  Also, the beauty of this dish is that you can make most of it way in advance, chill it for later, assemble it and cook it when you are ready.  How great is that?  I had some chicken left over so I figured I could make them into enchiladas.  Not to mention, I still had all those tortillas from the guacamole night, I figured I should use them soon.

When I cook this dish, I usually make a vegetarian option that I cook in the same pan as the chicken, that way everyone can join in on the fun.  You can make it all chicken or all mushroom if you want.  If you look at the recipe, you’ll notice that it’s equal measurement for the chicken as it is for the mushroom.  I like the chicken version better though.

If you’ve never worked with tomatillos before, it might be a little scary at first.  The paper husk is not so much a problem, but it does get this awkward sticky coating on it.  Once you cook it, the residue goes away.  I love roasting the tomatillo and jalapeno in the broiler.  It adds another layer of flavor.  Some people like to boil it, that’s fine too.  I also have seen people boil the onion and garlic with the jalapeno and tomatillo, I don’t like that.  I like the crisp rawness of the bite from the onion and garlic that’s raw.   If you want to though, reserve some raw ones for the blender.  I also don’t use the boiling water, because I roast it, so I substitute vegetable broth in this version of salsa verde to help add some body to it.  One great tip that I learned from a food blog I was reading was that they added sour cream to the enchilada sauce right before pouring it into the casserole.  Great idea!  I love sour cream too much to not try it.  Plus, sour cream isn’t bad for you when you don’t see it right?  Remember to heat the tortillas on a dry hot pan first, if you don’t then you will have lots of broken tortillas.  I went through a lot.  My MEChA buddies would be so proud!

~stuff

6 medium tomatillo, de-husked

2 large jalapenos, one sliced in half and one minced (about 2 tbs)

1 medium onion, half sliced in ½ inch slices and other half reserved

1 cup cilantro + 2 tbs minced

4 tsp limejuice

½ cup broth

1 medium tomato, wedges

1 big Portobello cap, ½ inch slice

2 tsp soy sauce

1½ cup cooked chicken, shredded

½ tsp cumin

½ tsp coriander

2 cloves of garlic, whole + 2 tbs minced

8 corn tortillas

¼ cup of sour cream

½ cup of queso blanco, crumbled

~steps

heat broiler on high

drizzle tomatillo and jalapeno halves in a casserole dish in broiler, turning to ensure both sides are roasted

blend onion half, 1 cup of cilantro, 2 tsp limejuice, roasted tomatillo and jalapeno, and 2 garlic cloves until pureed

add enough broth to make 2 cups of sauce and transfer to a wide pot

heat oven to 375˚

sauté in a large pan ½ cup onion slices, 1 tbs minced jalapeno, and 1 tbs of garlic on medium high until onion is translucent

add chicken, 1 tsp soy sauce, ¼ tsp cumin, ¼ tsp coriander, 1 tbs cilantro, 1 tsp limejuice,  1 tbs broth and half the tomatoes and stir until liquid is reduced

transfer the chicken and repeat the two previous steps but for the mushroom.  Season both fillings to taste with salt and pepper

heat tortilla until soft, dip in the salsa verde and fill with chicken or mushroom and roll and place into a casserole dish or baking pan

finish off by simmering the sauce on medium heat and swirling ¼ cup of sour cream, pour over enchiladas, and top with crumbled cheese

bake in the oven for 13 minutes and serve

– serves 4-6 –

2 Responses to “enchilada con salsa verde”


  1. 1 Candice
    January 28, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    I’m proud of you boo! Yum and Yum!


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.