01
Feb
10

roasted bone marrow with soldiers

roasted bone marrow with soldiers

I auditioned for a reality show.  No, it was not for Real World, Survivor, American Idol, or Jersey Shore- it was for a food network show.  I didn’t make it though, however that wasn’t the point.  The point was to do something new that was way out of my comfort level and my roommate, brother, and sister in law helped push me to do it.  It was an intense process.  Waited for I think 3 hours and eventually got to meet the casting assistant for 3 questions.  All this after filling out a 11 page application, my roommate taking 5 pictures of me – one being used as my picture for this blog -, and a very tragic moment with a printer and staples copy center.  It was all worth it though.  It was fun, I learned a lot about myself by filling out the application, and I even came up with the concept of my food network show.  Late Night Cooking: the sensual side of food network.  Yes! Sexy!  It would be focused around sexy foods, or sexy things.  Maybe even give an outlet for food network stars to do some cooking.  Can you imagine it?  Paula Deen letting it all loose on my show?  Now that would be awesome.   Plus, I would only air after 10, when young-ins should be asleep.  Even had a show name already in mind: “Midnight Snack”.  Raunchy.  Needless to say I didn’t get it, but if I did get it, this would be on the show.

I don’t know if you have had bone marrow before?  It doesn’t taste like beef, but almost better.  It’s as if you took the most marbled and expensive cut of filet mignon ever, extract all the flavor, reduce it to condense it, mix it with butter, and then stick it in a bone – then you have bone marrow.  You can usually get it from you butcher.  At my butcher they sell it as soup bone for $1.25.  It also came with some of the joints of the bone.  So I saved those in a Ziploc in my freezer for the day I make Chinese beef noodle soup.  This dish is a textural and flavor overload for me.  The crunchy toast with the smooth marrow mixed in with the tart from the lemon juice and the salt from the sea salt.  It’s all topped with the herb flavor of the parsley.  It’s a good combo in a small bite.

When I think of sexy food, I think of bone marrow.  The texture, flavor, and image of it just ooze sexy-ness.  Not to mention it’s a quick fix and easy clean up, which leads to sexy things later on.  The flavors aren’t intense, strong garlic or onion, which keeps the sexy going for the night.  And it cost a small amount with little ingredients, which allows for more sexy things later.  It’s a great appetizer for a nice romantic dinner for two, or a party – depending on your preference.  Now, picture Paula Deen making it on a late night food show and then you will have my food network show.

~stuff

4 marrow bones or soup bones, rinsed

¼ cup parsley, minced

½ lemons

sea salt

3-4 slices of bread

~steps

heat oven to 450˚

arrange bones in a roasting pan, cut side up

roast bones for 15 minutes or until marrow is cooked through and begins to separate

top with a squeeze of lemon juice,  pinch of salt, and sprinkle of parsley

serve with toast cut into ½ inch strips [called soldiers in the culinary world]

-serves 4 –

0 Responses to “roasted bone marrow with soldiers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.