03
Feb
10

hot bourbon apple green tea

green tea hot toddy

There are times that I think I would be every health food/nutritionist’s worst nightmare.  I’m going to admit it here, and publicly – I am a yuppie.  I do yoga, I shop at the farmers market, I try to shop organic, and I have subscription to health magazines.  But I don’t care.  I’m trying to take care of my body and be more conscious about myself.  Especially because it’s more cost effective to take care of my body now then deal with consequences later in life.  One of the things that I learned in my quest to be healthy, is how to introduce various anti-oxidants, vitamins, and what not in my diet. So, why not put it in a hot tea to help warm me in the winter weather?

I got this idea from a magazine that I may have stolen from a neighbor. [wow, this post is all about confessions]  Can’t remember, but it was an article on green tea and it’s anti-oxidant qualities.  I remember a recipe they had the called for apple and cinnamon steeped with tea.  I figured I should take it to the next level and add some orange and nutmeg.  So in the end, I have a great hot apple drink mixed with green tea.  It was delicious.  Perfect for warming me up in the winter.  Who needs a fireplace?  The nutmeg and cinnamon help in helping with the comfort level.

And, as you all know, something healthy doesn’t always stay sober for me.  Refer to my failed attempt at the lemonade cleanse.  So, after taking a sip, I asked myself.  How do I add extra umph to this?  Why not add some good ol’ Kentucky bourbon?  So in goes a shot of the smoky bourbon with the hot drink, and who needs a fireplace or the bear skin rug? [in case I use this for my food network show.]  Don’t recommend this as a drink to eat food with, but if it’s after the meal, a late night, or just really cold.  Drink some of this, with or without the alcohol.  It’s full of vitamin C and anti-oxidants.  It’s smooth-tastic.  And the apple, for some reason, doesn’t soak up any of the tea – instead it soaks up the bourbon.  Be prepared…it’s a doozie!

~stuff

3 cups water

2 cups granny smith apple, diced (about 1)

1 tsp orange zest, grated

½ tsp cinnamon, ground

½ tsp nutmeg, ground

4 tsp honey

2 green tea bags

1.5 oz Kentucky bourbon (Makers Mark)

thin apple slice for garnish

~steps

combine all ingredients except bourbon, tea, and garnish in a medium saucepan and simmer for 15 minutes

strain out liquid pressing juice out of the apples and discard

steep tea in liquid for 5 minutes and remove

serve in mug mixed with bourbon, optional, and garnish with apple slice

-serves 3-

3 Responses to “hot bourbon apple green tea”


  1. 1 Juyeon
    February 10, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Now, this is something I will never be able to make and drink…. Alas. I am allegic to apples and alcohol… Isn’t there a natural cure for this (in)convenient ailment? 😉

    The drink sounds delicious, though. Scott, here’s a challenge for you. Can you find a non-alcoholic beverages that contains no bubbly things, no sugar, but some anti-oxidants and lots of those good vitamins for me to drink? What a girl should do with lots of weird allergies?

  2. 2 Greg
    April 16, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    This one looks easy enough! As long as I don’t have to turn on the oven, which would require me to find another storage space for my sweaters, I should be ok…


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.