25
Aug
10

sangria

CF card is missing...sangria via iphone...

Yes!  Today was 67 degrees in NYC.  It’s chilly.  I’m wearing sweats and a hoodie because I am so cold.  This is excites me so much because of two reasons:  1) It’s not sticky hot summer that it’s suppose to be in NYC and 2) I can start cooking again and not have to stand over a hot stove.  This is good for my readers because then that means that you will get more awesome postings.

So, as a celebration of the passing of the hot warm day, I bring to you: Sangria.  Wait, what!?  Yes, I said sangria.  I’ve had this weird hankering for Sangria lately and realized, on a day that was abnormally cold, that I could have made this months ago and it would have cooled me down ever so much.  But, instead I save it for a cold day.  My mind is a mysterious thing.  More mysterious than the Matrix, 2001: A Space Odyssey, and Primer all combined together (with cliff notes)

I first discovered Sangria while I was living in DC.  Tapas were becoming a huge food trend at the time, and with is came sangria.  It was a fruit explosion and it was my first foray, beyond mimosas, in a wine cocktail.  Now, although sangria is an “easy” drink to make and differs between the maker/mixologist, I feel like there has to be a healthy mix in order to get the best flavor of sangria.  It’s like fried rice; you have to make sure everything is balanced.  My first couple of dips in the sangria making pool produced beverages that where too strong liquor wise, too sweet liqueur wise, or too much like a spoiled little three year old (whiney).  I think I figured out the mix for myself though and the use of frozen fruit ensures that the flavors really get into the liquid.  It’s, as Martha would say sipping on her fourth glass, “a good thing”.

I love this sangria.  It always brings me back to my amazing two years in DC, my first job out of college, and the amazing people that have had a huge impact on my life both professionally and personally.  I miss you all.  It especially reminds me of G.C., who allowed me to drink a full pitcher between the two of us before an ever so important conference call.  And THAT is what friends are for.

~stuff

750 ml bottle of red or white wine

2 cups sliced frozen strawberry

1½ cup sliced frozen peach

1 apple, sliced thin [I like Fuji apple because of their sweetness]

1 cup clear orange liqueur [i.e. triple sec]

½ cup citrus vodka

simple syrup or agave syrup to taste

prosecco or sweet sparkling wine [if using white]

~steps

pour all ingredients except sweetener and sparkling wine in a jar or bowl

stir until well incorporated and cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

add sweetener to taste

serve in a glass filled with ice and top off with sparkling wine, if it is white wine sangria

join conference call

-makes 4 glasses –

2 Responses to “sangria”


  1. 1 Kerrie
    August 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Thank you for this! I love sangria and have been waiting for a good recipe!


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…