15
Jun
12

Sun Dried Tomato Gremolata

Gremolata with Sun Dried Tomato

I go through a process about twice or thrice a year to help inspire me to become well built. It begins with a television show, image, or conversation about lean bodies, six packs, or looking hot that starts its season. I would then feel in-adequate with myself and then go to the gym and attempt a healthier lifestyle and diet and as well as try to be more mentally clear. So, thanks to the Olympics, daytime talk shows, and So You Think You Can Dance, I am forced to see what I am not (a tall muscular man with six packs and legs that can touch the cieling) and I vow at that moment that I will NOT slack off. A few weeks later,  once the season is done, I’m back to laying on the couch and pretending I can point my toes.

My regimen is usually the same. Thanks to working mostly nights, I wake up and have some breakfast, wait an hour before I walk to the gym, run on a treadmill for forty minutes, and then I walk home and have lunch. I would continue to do this two or three times a week until I attempt to make a habit of it.  Having a routine like this makes one realize what they are really good at. I’ve learned that I’m really good at: 1) looking like I work out alot when I go to the gym. 2)  Taking naps after Working out. And 3) making scrambled eggs in the morning.

Now, I haven’t always been great at making scrambled eggs. Originally, when I would wake up to watch cartoons or read the comics, my scrambled eggs were hard, clumpy, rubber like in texture, and filled with garlic powder (it’s how I thought scrambled eggs where supposed to be prepared at the age of 9).  It wasn’t until I was watching Martha Stewart a few years later that I realized that the secret is to do it over low heat and have some patience. I now understood what eggs where supposed to taste like.  It was as if the clouds had opened up to show blue skies above me and a ray or enlightenment had beamed down from above and given me infinite wisdoms and knowledge.  Okay, maybe not that extreme, but it was eye opening.

From there I began experimenting with toppings and condiments to dress my eggs with. It made breakfast more fun, and allowed me to push back the inevitable of working out. I played with salsas, vinagerettes, sauces, chutneys, and gremolatas. They where all delicious. But I think my favorite was this gremolatas dish. It had the right amount of chunky mouth feel without overpowering the flavor or texture of the egg. Also, it is still sauce-like enough to blend well with the egg to ensure even coverage so that you have some in every bite.

I first made this gremolata in college when I would buy a whole bushel of parsley but realize I only needed half. I’d end up with a bunch of parsley that would turn brown in my fridge if I didn’t use it up quickly. The solution that I came up with was to make it into a sauce and refrigerate it. This way I could keep the parsley  a few more days past its prime. I wouldn’t reccomend it for folks who have an aversion to parsley. It’s pretty heavy in that flavor profile. But, somehow the brightness from the lemon zest and the sweetness from the sun dried tomato really works well with the grassy flavor of the parsley. Plus, as you all know from my infatuations, the combination of egg and tomato will always be a plus in my books, no matter how the tomato is prepared.   Enjoy this sauce, it woul be great on gamey meats as well, but just as good on scrambled eggs.

~stuff

1 cup parsley, minced

1 lemon, zest and juice

1 tbs sun dried tomato, minced

1 clove garlic, grated

2 tbs olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

~steps

combine all ingredients in a bowl and season to test.

let the gremolata sit for at least 15 minutes to allow the flavor to combine

-serves 6-

0 Responses to “Sun Dried Tomato Gremolata”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.