25
Jun
12

Video Post: The Launch of my YouTube channel and a Zong Zi recipe

wrapped

Some exciting things are happening here at brb…eating.
Update #1: I’m pleased to announce the launch of the brb…eating YouTube channel: [brbeatingdotcom].
I’ve always wanted to incorporate different forms of media in this blog beyond just pictures and print, especially with some dishes that are so hard to describe in just words. June 23rd, Dragon Boat Festival, was coming up and it was traditional to have Zong Zi on this day.  So, I thought that it was a good opportunity to make my family’s “Bah Tsang” recipe (a rather difficult process of filling, wrapping, and tying [pay close attention to the tying in the video]) and force myself out of my comfort zone and make a video about it.  I am now excited to say I can cross two things off my lunar new year list.

Click me to see how I am made!

 

Here is the recipe for the Zong Zi/ Bah Tsang/ Sticky Rice Dumpling or whatever you want to call it.
~stuff
10 cups Sticky Rice, uncooked and soaking for 3 hours
1 cup dried salted shrimp, rehydrated
2 cups whole dried shitake mushroom, rehydrated
1 cup peanut
2 cups of water
4 star anise pods
1 tbs salt
1.5 lb pork belly, cubed into 1 inch pieces
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup rice wine
1/4 cup brown sugar
4 large cloves garlic, peeled
35 bamboo leaves, soaking for 3 hours
Boiled Peanuts
~place peanuts, water, star anise, and salt in a small saucepan and boil on high heat until peanuts are soft, 15 minutes
Braised Pork
~places all ingredients in a large dutch oven and turn on low heat
~braise pork until fork tender, about 3 hours
~if using for Zong Zi, let cool to room temperature
-makes 15-20-
3 Responses to “Video Post: The Launch of my YouTube channel and a Zong Zi recipe”


  1. 1 Dennis Yang
    August 1, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Hey Scott,

    Told my friends at work about your site…they are interested…I will forward this site address to them tomorrow.

    Dennis


Leave a Reply

…me…


i hunger...i cook...i eat...i come back...i reminisce...i blog...enjoy.

…contact…

(e) info@brb-eating.com follow me @brbeating

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 78 other followers

…categories…

…tweet…